My own words

My son has a new catchphrase: “Not now, but soon.”

When I ask him if he has to go potty, it’s “not now, but soon.”

When I ask him to sit down and eat his dinner already, he says, “Not now, but soon.”

When I ask him to come and take his bath before all the bubbles vanish. Once again, it’s not now. But soon, mommy.

And then I caught myself telling him the same thing when he started asking me (on a school day, midweek) when we were going to take his bubble mower to the park so he could play.

The worst thing isn’t him parroting my words. It’s that he means exactly what I do when I tell him that, which is we’re not doing that now, and we’re not doing it soon.

I was not counting on him being quite so smart so soon.

20120322-230443.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Motherhood, Toddlers

Leave a Reply

